Marsha Ritzdorf Award

Marsha Ritzdorf Award for the Best Student Work on Diversity, Social Justice and the Role of Women in Planning

Nomination Information

Deadline: May 1, 2014 extended to June 30, 2014
Award given annually

This award recognizes superior scholarship reflecting concern with making communities better for women, people of color and/or the disadvantaged. Submissions may be based on student work submitted in the pursuit of any urban/city/community/town/regional planning degree, undergraduate or graduate, at an ACSP-member school. This award carries a cash grant of $100 USD and the work is expected to be presented at the annual ACSP conference.

Submissions must not exceed 35 double-spaced pages. Those pages should be in 12 point or larger font with at least 1″ margins. The paper should include: a cover sheet (showing the student’s full contact information, the name of the student’s program and university, contact information for the faculty nominator, the student’s signature, faculty nominator’s signature, and an indication that this paper is not being nominated for any other ACSP award); and a letter of nomination from a faculty member. Please note, faculty involvement in the paper should be limited to an advisory role.

These materials should be sent electronically before May 1, 2014 to the committee chair.

Marsha Ritzdorf Award Committee

Hilary Nixon, Chair
San Jose State University
Voice: 408.924.5852

Laura Solitaire
Texas Southern University
Voice: 713.313.7772

Rosie Tighe
Appalachian State University
Voice: 828.262.8905

Cecilia Giusti
Texas A&M University
Voice: 979.458.4304

Past Winners

2013 Jenny Cadigan Jenny Cadigan, California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo
2012 Lizzie Hessmiller Lizzie Hessmiller, University of Pennsylvania
2011  Isabelle Anguelovski Isabelle Anguelovski, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
2010  Mia White Mia White, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
2009 Auvinet Kaur Tehara, University of Toronto
2007  Ahmed Abukhater Ahmed Abukhater, University of Texas at Austin
2006 Jordana Ross
2005  Elsie Achugbue Elsie Achugbue, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
2004 Tara Kumar
2003  Karen Pooley Karen Pooley, University of Pennsylvania
2002 Susan Chivaratanond, University of California, Berkeley
2001  Isabel Domeyko Isabel Domeyko, University of Illinois at Chicago
2000  Richard Cho Richard S. Cho, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
1999 Ivan Banda, Thomasz Bielecki, Tanya Boyce, Katie Chin, Lise Dorestant, Colette Gill, Drew Kirlazides, Rigoberto M. Lopez, Sarah Massey, Chris Ryan, Sumona Samanta, Robert Tyrell; Hunter College, CUNY
1998  Stacy Hardwood Stacy Harwood, University of Southern California