Home » Awards » Margarita McCoy Award

Margarita McCoy Award

The Margarita McCoy Award was named to honor a pioneer planning educator known for her unflagging commitment to the advancement of women in the profession. Today Professor Emerita at Cal Poly Pomona, Margarita was one of the one of the first women in a tenure-track position in planning and the first female full professor of Planning in the US. She was very involved in ACSP, serving as ACSP Secretary in the organization’s formative years.

FWIG established the McCoy award to honor ACSP women who follow the model set by Professor McCoy–those whose teaching, research, or service helps advance women in the planning academy by creating a positive climate for women students and faculty, encouraging greater participation by women in ACSP, mentoring and supporting junior women faculty, and/or providing leadership in overcoming barriers faced by women in a variety of academic arena.

MargaritaMcCoy3.jpg  MargaritaMcCoy-110x150.jpg MargaritaMcCoy2.jpg

Nomination Information

Deadline July 1, 2014
Presented in even-numbered years

Recognizes individuals who have made an outstanding contribution toward the advancement of women in planning at institutions of higher education through service, teaching, and/or research.

Nominations may come from faculty or administrators at ACSP-member schools and must include a nomination letter that states the ways in which the nominee has, through his or her activities, contributed to the advancement of women in planning at institutions of higher education. Nomination letters should include the name and current affiliation (including mail and e-mail addresses and phone number) of the nominee, and full contact information for the nominator. A maximum of three letters of support and BRIEF supporting materials may accompany the nomination.

Nominations (in electronic format only) should be submitted to the committee chair.

Margarita McCoy Award Committee

Hilary Nixon, Chair
San José State University
Voice: 408/924-5852
Email: hilary.nixon@sjsu.edu

Cheryl Contant
Northland University
Voice: 715/682-1226
Email: ccontant@northland.edu

Hemalata Dandekar
California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo
Voice: 805/756-1315
Email: hdandeka@calpoly.edu

Past Winners


Hemalata Dandekar, California Polytechnic State University (Acceptance speech)
2008 Daphne_Spain_04HR_JH-150x150 Daphne Spain, University of Virginia (Acceptance speech)
Dolores Hayden, Yale University (Acceptance speech)
Patricia Pollak, Cornell University (Acceptance speech)
Ann Markusen, University of Minnesota
2001 Margot Garcia, Virginia Commonwealth University
Karen R. Polenske, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Marcia Marker Feld, University of Rhode Island
1997 Marsha Ritzdorf, Virginia Polytechnic Institute & State University
Eugenie Birch, Hunter College-CUNY
Sandra Rosenbloom, University of Arizona